Oil & Gas / Energy Litigation

We represent clients throughout the petroleum industry within Texas and across the country. We represent major oil and gas companies, independents and landowners in disputes and lawsuits, ranging from individual tract claims to nationwide class actions.

Building on firm history dating back nearly a century, McGinnis Lochridge lawyers have dealt with the developing issues in unconventional shale plays throughout Texas and North America. Our recent work in the Eagle Ford shale trend builds on decades of a strong firm presence in courtrooms throughout South Texas. We also work regularly with Texas governmental agencies including the Railroad Commission of Texas (RRC) and the Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ), as well as local municipalities and water districts.

Our litigation experience includes disputes over mineral title ownership, operating agreements, surface use and damages, water use, pipeline right-of-way and condemnation, bad faith pooling, oil and gas lease covenants, lease forfeiture, royalty underpayment and pricing, salt water disposal, and environmental damages and cleanup.

The attorneys in our Oil & Gas Practice Group have the expertise needed to translate difficult technical evidence into plain language. We have a deep understanding of geology, hydrology, geophysics, log analysis, drilling and reservoir engineering, pipeline and gas plant operations, and rock mechanics.

 

 

 
  Primary Contact  
  Jonathan Baughman
713 615-8540 o
713 328-1840 f
jbaughman@mcginnislaw.com
 
 
  Practicing in this Area...  
 
Travis Barton
tcbarton@mcginnislaw.com
Chris Halgren
chalgren@mcginnislaw.com
Paul Simpson
psimpson@mcginnislaw.com
Jonathan Baughman
jbaughman@mcginnislaw.com
Donald D. Jackson
djackson@mcginnislaw.com
Steven Watkins
swatkins@mcginnislaw.com
Kevin M. Beiter
kbeiter@mcginnislaw.com
Russell Johnson
rjohnson@mcginnislaw.com
John (JC) Hernandez
jhernandez@mcginnislaw.com
Austin Brister
abrister@mcginnislaw.com
April Lucas
alucas@mcginnislaw.com
Bruce Kramer
bkramer@mcginnislaw.com
Paul D. Clote
pclote@mcginnislaw.com
Don Magee
dmagee@mcginnislaw.com
Ryan Lammert
rlammert@mcginnislaw.com
Doug Dodds
ddodds@mcginnislaw.com
Jordan Mullins
jmullins@mcginnislaw.com
Ian McNeill
imcneill@mcginnislaw.com
Felicity A. Fowler
ffowler@mcginnislaw.com
Derrick Price
dprice@mcginnislaw.com
Ana P. Navarrete
anavarrete@mcginnislaw.com
Tim George
tgeorge@mcginnislaw.com
Sky Andrew Scherer
sscherer@mcginnislaw.com
 
 
 
 
  Our Offices  
 
Austin Office
600 Congress Ave., Ste. 2100
Austin,TX 78701
512 495-6000 p | 512 495-6093 f

Houston Office
711 Louisiana St., Ste. 1600
Houston,TX 77002
713 615-8500 p | 713 615-8585 f

Dallas Office
Chase Tower
2200 Ross Ave., Ste. 4900E
Dallas,TX 75201
214 307-6960 p | 214 307-6990 f

Decatur Office
203 W. Walnut St, Ste 100
Decatur,TX 76234
940 627-1100 p

 
     
  mcginnislaw.com