Corporate & Business Transactions

McGinnis Lochridge attorneys counsel clients on corporate organization and assist with the formation of business entities, as well as capitalization with stocks, bonds and securities. We handle financing, stock placement and acquisition financing, as well as equity, debt and structured financing. We also counsel clients on governance and compliance with state and federal laws and ethics requirements.

We have years of experience with officer, director and shareholder requirements. Our clients range from major public companies to smaller entities, including single-owner or manager entities. We provide skilled assistance on a wide variety of issues and transactions, from the very complex to the relatively simple.

Our collective experience has included:

  • Forming new business enterprises by creating corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships and other entities under the laws of Texas, Delaware or other states.
  • Assisting with the development of new business plans, along with operating agreements and other basic rules for governance and compliance.
  • Guiding clients on financing matters such as stock placement, acquisition financing, equity issuance, debt placement and structure project financing, as well as investment plans and the issuance of securities and bonds.
  • Counseling boards on a variety of issues including fiduciary duty issues and officer, director and shareholder relationships and obligations.
  • Guiding clients regarding the requirements of executive, officer and employee compensation and benefits, including stock options.
  • Preparing offering and financial disclosure documents to comply with the requirements of both state and federal securities regulators.
  • Assisting with a wide range of negotiations from simple negotiations with potential partners and investments to create startup entities, to complex matters involving acquisitions, sales, issuance of securities and the development of new lines of business.
  • Advising clients on state and federal tax issues including margin or franchise tax questions, federal tax issues, local property and sales taxes and other state level taxes.
 

 

 
  Primary Contact  
  Edward McHorse
512-495-6009 o
512-505-6309 f
emchorse@mcginnislaw.com
 
 
  Practicing in this Area...  
 
Bill Bingham
bbingham@mcginnislaw.com
Lloyd Lochridge
llochridge@mcginnislaw.com
C. Morris Davis
mdavis@mcginnislaw.com
Greg Chanon
gchanon@mcginnislaw.com
April Lucas
alucas@mcginnislaw.com
Ali Gallagher
agallagher@mcginnislaw.com
Cliff Ernst
cernst@mcginnislaw.com
Martin Lutz
mlutz@mcginnislaw.com
Alison Lenner
alenner@mcginnislaw.com
Manuel Escobar
mescobar@mcginnislaw.com
Edward McHorse
emchorse@mcginnislaw.com
Shana McGirl
smcgirl@mcginnislaw.com
Kevin W. Haney
khaney@mcginnislaw.com
Robert E. Reetz, Jr.
rreetz@mcginnislaw.com
Martha Todd
mtodd@mcginnislaw.com
Clarke Heidrick
cheidrick@mcginnislaw.com
Phillip Schmandt
pschmandt@mcginnislaw.com
Michael A. Wren
mwren@mcginnislaw.com
Doug Jones
djones@mcginnislaw.com
Melissa Salhab Sykes
msykes@mcginnislaw.com
 
 
 
 
  Our Offices  
 
Austin Office
600 Congress Ave., Ste. 2100
Austin,TX 78701
512 495-6000 p | 512 495-6093 f

Houston Office
711 Louisiana St., Ste. 1600
Houston,TX 77002
713 615-8500 p | 713 615-8585 f

Dallas Office
Chase Tower
2200 Ross Ave., Ste. 4900E
Dallas,TX 75201
214 307-6960 p | 214 307-6990 f

Decatur Office
203 W. Walnut St, Ste 100
Decatur,TX 76234
940 627-1100 p

 
     
  mcginnislaw.com